TRUFFLES!

Today is Tuesday, and WH left again this morning. I didn’t sob like he was dying this time, so I think he’ll have a better week in the field than last time. At any rate…….

Today is National Boss Day. I am a boss. I may not like it, but there you have it. Four direct reports, and I am so happy to tell you, internet, that only two of them hate me, and only one hates me really intensely. The other alternately likes and hates me, depending on her self esteem and general mood. My favorite, my absolute favorite- the girl who happens to be one of my best friends in addition to my employee……

She got me TRUFFLES! Like, real, from the chocolate shop, truffles. A dozen. A DOZEN TRUFFLES. Cool truffles, like semi-sweet, raspberry, and irish creme. You know? Just when I think I couldn’t possibly love this girl more, TRUFFLES.

People, (who ever the hell “People” are, anyway), say you should never be friends with your staff. I agree. For the most part, being friends with the people you are in charge of is only an open invitation to heartache and being taken advantage of. Also, if you think general betrayal of trust sucks in a friendship, try a betrayal of trust that involves friendship AND your career. Double yuck. Not to mention that most of the people who will work for you will be stupid, ungrateful bitches. Such is the way of the world. Who needs friends like that?

Every once in awhile, though, you realize that you’re in charge of someone so incredibly wonderful that you just can’t help loving them. If you think this might be happening to you, find something they’ve done wrong, then mention it to them. If they realize that you have to say something, and they treat it as a work-thing only, you have no choice but to love them and befriend them. This girl, she hardly ever does anything wrong, and when she does, it’s a genuine mistake and not her screwing off or even being spiteful. Also?

She is one hell of a woman. Smart, caring, funny, witty, strong- all the things I strive to be. Her manners are much better than mine, and so is her taste. She gives awesome hugs. When I am ready to throw a pity party, when I’m warming up my worm casserole, she can stop it on a dime. Because she hearts me, and because she tells me she loves me whenever she sees me, which is twenty times a day. I never get tired of hearing it. I heart her too. It’s a mutual adoration thing.

TRUFFLES! Who knew there was an upside to being in middle management?!

Technorati Tags: , , , , , ,