Marmalade Monster

Back in 1999, the ex brought home a little orange tabby kitten, just weaned, from the woodpile behind the warehouse he worked in. We named him Gizzy, and he named himself Monster.

This cat. He’s everything that is good and right about the world. He doesn’t care for anyone but me. Tolerates the ex, but not really anyone else. His fur smells like stuffed animals. He curls up against my chest while I sleep. Anywhere I go, he follows. To the mailbox. To the garden. Through the house. When I’m sleeping and he’s hungry, he bites my cheeks and runs his claws through my hair. He loves peanuts, and he would love chocolate if I would let him have it.

For the past ten years, he’s always been there for me. When I’m upset, he’s in my lap, laying on top of my chest, curled up in my arms like an overgrown baby doll. When I’m sick, he sleeps above my head on my pillow. He licks the tears off of my cheeks and lays on the edge of the tub when I take a bath.

Yesterday he got sick and I had to take him to the vet, and they had to keep him. He was severely dehydrated and his white blood cell count is 35,000, which is about as high as it gets. They don’t know what’s wrong with him. They do know that he can’t come home tonight. His bloodwork shows normal organ function, but he’s still not stable enough to leave and it’s too soon to check his count again, as he’s only had antibiotics and fluids for eighteen hours or so.

You have to get better, my sweet orange boy, my marmalade monster. You have to.

10 Responses

  1. He just looks soooooo incredibly squeezable . . . prayers for Gizzy !

  2. AWwww. Poor big fat puss cat.

    Hope he’s feeling tip top soon.

    x

  3. Such a handsome boy!

    Sending healing thoughts for Monster Kitteh and Big Hugs for a VeryBadCat!

  4. He is so adorable and sweet! I’m thinking about you and your kitty today. Hang in there! xoxo

  5. Oh, good luck! I don’t even know what I’d do if something happened to Lucas, my own little monster (pics here: http://beachbumatheart.blogspot.com/2008/12/meet-lucas.html)

    This brought tears to my eyes. Keep us updated, on what will hopefully be good news!

  6. I hope that everything turns out alright for him and that he is able to come home soon.

  7. Awww, poor baby. I’m so sorry. Hope it’s nothing big and he’s feeling better soon!

  8. Wishing for a speedy feline recovery and cheers to the cat mommy as well . . .

  9. Awww! What a cute kitty! Orange tabbies rule! I hope he gets better really soon. Hopefully it’s something easily fixable.

  10. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the critter got better! Mine was super sick last year and it was incredibly traumatic, not to mention the blow it gave my bank account (worth it, of course, no question, but holy moly!) Keep us posted!

Leave a Reply

