TMI Thursday: In Which I Serve My Country

TMI Thursday

Yes, lovely freaders, it’s TMI Thursday! Today’s story takes place in the long, long ago when I was about sixteen. My friends were a group of people at least four years older than I.

One of our friends was leaving to join the Marines, so we threw him a party. His last hurrah. Much booze was consumed, and I don’t really remember how Mr. Marine and I ended up on the pull out sofa bed together, but we did.

Like any good and patriotic American girl who finds herself drunk and cuddled up to a soon to be Marine, I felt compelled to give him a decent send off. I mean, doesn’t he deserve to go into basic training with the highest morale possible? The fact that he was handsome and halfway charming didn’t hurt at all.

I gave him such a good send off that we never made it to the main event. Which surprised me, because at the tender age of sixteen, I had no clue what I was doing. I woke up the next morning with a sticky t shirt and feeling a little sheepish.Β  I was also a little sensitive about my lack of experience- had I made a fool of myself? My consolation was that at least he had left town, so I wouldn’t have to deal with any aftermath, and to this day, I still don’t know that anyone else at the party knew about what happened that night.Β  I went on about my sweet sixteen business and after a while, I mostly forgot all about it.

Fast forward several months, to Mr. Marine’s first visit home on leave.

I’m sitting in the same house the send off party was held in, drink in hand, talking to a friend when he walked through the door. I turned to see who it was, and he saw me, and I must have blushed harder than I’ve ever blushed since. What do you say to a guy in this situation? All the worry and doubt and sheepishness came flooding back like a day hadn’t passed between our encounter and his return.

Turns out, I didn’t have to say a thing. He picked me up into a huge hug and twirled me around, going on and on about how much he had missed me?! I mean, it could have been a scene from a World War Two movie! We were not great friends before his send off, so his enthusiasm had to be about his farewell party.Β  So, not only did I not make a fool of myself, but apparently the memories of that night kept me on this guy’s radar for almost a year afterward, which made me feel a lot better about the whole thing. That was also when I realized what a simple and grateful creature the male human can be at a basic level. Nothing else ever happened between us; we talked that night and I never saw him again.

How’s that for serving your country? πŸ˜‰

13 Responses

  1. Well that’s a pretty good way to do it!

    We all give what we can for the cause… πŸ˜‰

  2. sounds romantic!

    the first part, not so much? the homecoming was straight out of a movie, and was very romantic.

  3. appropriate soundtrack:

    excuse me while i clean this strawberry yogurt smoothie off of my monitor! πŸ˜‰

  4. […] verybadcat’s TMI Thursday: In Which I Serve My Country […]

  5. Apparently you ran it up his flagpole and got a big salute! *giggle

    *giggle* you could say that……

  6. Wow, good job (literally) ! The guy I’m seeing right now is leaving for 3 weeks, going overseas.. not a Marine but I’m pretty sure I gave him a good send-off .. hopefully he’ll come hug me WW2 style upon his return !

    i’m sure he will, darlin’. best to both of you.

  7. If this is what I would have to do to serve my country then I hope I will at least end up something more comfortable than a sofa bed.

    Wait, what?

    oh, nico, you’re so funny. i was young and drunk, i don’t remember the sofa bed being uncomfortable at all. furthest thing from my mind.

  8. You were just doing your duty as an American Citizen. Nothing wrong with that!

    that’s right! where is my honorary membership to the USO? πŸ˜‰

  9. I stood up and applauded you…

    and that’s part of why i love you so very much! πŸ™‚

  10. You are a giver, my dear. πŸ˜‰

    i am, i really and truly am. πŸ˜‰

  11. Ha- awesome! <- I would make a better comment, but I just finished eating a gigantic meal and am on the verge of a food coma, and basically my brain is not working.

  12. I salute YOU. πŸ™‚

  13. Having served for 5 years myself, I think you are a patriot of the highest order!

Leave a Reply

