Dreams for Sale

Okay, freaders. I have a few financial matters that need tending to, and quickly. In order to generate some cash, I’d like to sell some things that I don’t need anymore. I’m not sure at all how to go about it. Maybe you can help. Or maybe you will just save me a lot of time and decide you’re interested in buying. šŸ˜‰

Item #1: Diamond Journey pendant. The tricky part here is where to sell? I’m not going to get what I need from a pawn shop. I have a certificate for this necklace, which I will be locating tonight. There are a few on Ebay, but it’s hard to get a read on pricing and how likely it is to sell. I don’t have time to list it twice. Craigslist, maybe? Except that the last thing I want is having to field a ton of phone calls/meetings/weirdo emails.

Item #2: My wedding dress. It’s an Oleg Cassini, bought ten years ago. The problem with this item? I’ve kept the dress protected very well, but I never did have it cleaned after the wedding, so it would need to be cleaned before it was worn again. Do I wait until I can pay to have it cleaned? Do I come down on my reserve to account for the expense the buyer will incur in having it cleaned? I have no reason to think that it won’t be pristine afterwards- no spills or stains, just some grass and general dirt on the edges of the train…

Additionally, how does one handle the sale of such sentimental items? Will people even want the material remnants of a failed marriage? What should the ad say? I don’t want to be rude, crass or bitter. I don’t feel rude, crass, or bitter. I just need money, and have no intention to use or pass down either item, given the circumstances.

So, internet, what say you? How much are yesterday’s dreams worth, and where is the best place to sell them?

5 Responses

  1. The dress you can just put on ebay and someone will buy it, even if they have to clean it….just make sure to post pictures of what needs to be cleaned. The necklace, just put it on craigslist, use only an email account that you make specifically for it and then have the person meet you in a public place (like a diner) with the cash for it and make sure you have someone with you at the time.

  2. Woot?!?!?!?!?!
    Where have I bean that I’ve missed all that has been happening!?!?!?!?!
    Ebay seems to be the weapon of choice of loads of people… (my siste-in-law included)
    why not start from there and see where it goes????

  3. I’d say for the dress, just try to sell it at a lower price. having it cleaned is a pain and might not lead to any new sales.

  4. Ordinarily I’m pretty up on electronic marketplaces but for these items I’m kind of at a loss.

    There is also the possibility of using the Marketplace app on Facebook, on top of eBay and Craigslist.

  5. Ebay definitely for the dress. Mention that it will need to be cleaned and take detailed pictures.

    The necklace/pendant? Will be hard to get what it’s worth but maybe try craigslist first?

Leave a Reply

