When I Lose My Words

I let others sing for me:

Under a blackened sky
far beyond the glaring streetlights
sleeping on empty dreams
the vultures lie in wait
You lay down beside me then
you were with me every waking hour
so close I could feel your breath
When all we wanted was the dream
to have and to hold that precious little thing
like every generation yields
the new born hope unjaded by their years
“wait” sarah mclachlan

I used to think my life
was often empty
a lonely space to fill
you hurt me more than
I ever would have imagined
you made my world stand still
and in that stillness
there was a freedom
I never felt before
“plenty” sarah mclaughlin

So I would choose to be with you
That’s if the choice were mine to make
But you can make decisions too
And you can have this heart to break

And so it goes, and so it goes
And you’re the only one who knows.
“and so it goes” billy joel

Then you walk to the window and stare at the moon
Riding high and lonesome through a starlit sky
And it comes to you how it all slips away
Youth and beauty are gone one day
No matter what you dream or feel or say
It ends in dust and disarray

Like wind on the plains, sand through the glass
Waves rolling in with the tide
Dreams die hard and we watch them erode
But we cannot be denied
The fire inside
“the fire inside” bob seger

Roll, roll me away,
won’t you roll me away tonight
I too am lost, I feel double-crossed
and I’m sick of what’s wrong and what’s right
We never even said a word,
we just walked out and got on that bike
And we rolled
And we rolled clean out of sight

We rolled across the high plains
Deep into the mountains
Felt so good to me
Finally feelin’ free
“roll me away” bob seger

I know somebody and they cry for you.
They lie awake at night and dream of you.
I bet you never even know they do, but somebody’s crying.
I know somebody and they called your name.
A million times and still you never came.
They go on loving you just the same, I know that somebody’s trying.
chris isaak “somebody’s crying”

6 Responses

  1. ‘Cause you can’t jump the track, we’re like cars on a cable
    And life’s like an hourglass, glued to the table
    No one can find the rewind button, girl.
    So cradle your head in your hands
    And breathe… just breathe,
    Oh breathe, just breathe
    Anna Nalick – Breathe

  2. Billy and Bob have spoken for me many a time. 😉

  3. Sarah sings for me a lot.

  4. VERY good song choices. Roll Me Away is one of my all time favorite songs.

  5. yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, and yes. yes indeed.

  6. music is such a savior imho. and i completely forgot about “and so it goes” so thank you for the reminder. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

