Lucky Duck

If you’re friends with me on Facebook, or you follow me on Twitter, you may already know that I’m taking a pay cut for the remainder of 2009 at least, along with the rest of my entire company. This blows. Hard. It, along with other pressures, puts my trip to Chicago in jeopardy, as well as affecting many things that are much more important than the Ultimate Meet Up (though that’s a damn short list, if you were wondering). Suckola.

Know what, though? I’m in a good mood today. I’m happy. Better than that, I’m lucky. Yep, I said it. Here’s a handy list of reasons I am lucky:

  • MH is doing anything and everything he can to save Chicago and right my world at large. He wants this trip for me as much or more than I want it for myself.
  • Because he loves meΒ  and knows what is important to me.
  • Because he thinks I have actual, real, writing talent and wants to see my writing and my relationships and my bloggy goodness nurtured.
  • Our lettuce is kicking major ass, adding mostly free salads to our menu.
  • The onions and potatoes are rocking right along, which means a winter full of soups and mashed taters and yummy garden goodness.
  • I have a good job, that is mostly safe, and even with the pay cut, I’m treated pretty damn well.
  • Barring any surprises from the lab, I’m certified healthy (if not organic) by my new doctor..
  • My doctor rocks. He listens, he cares, and he’s on the ball, yo.
  • I’m the apple of my Daddy’s eye, and he called me last night to remind me.
  • Thanks to B, I’m eating organic eggs for free, now with extra beta carotene, which might actually keep me from going completely blind by 40.
  • LiLu is my friend on Facebook. SQUEE!Β  πŸ˜‰
  • I have the best freaders ever, in the whole wide world, and probably the universe, dimensions known and unknown.
  • Today is Re-pot Your Office Plants day, and mine need some love….
  • Re-pot Office Plants Day = cuttings for everyone= FREE PLANTS FOR ME.
  • I live in one of the most beautiful places in the world.
  • I might just have some friends,Β  I might love them, and they might love me too…
  • Between now and December I have:Β  four weeks of vacation, 3 three day weekends, a 4 day weekend, and a whole week of paid holidays.
  • MH + Daddy + my Uncle + CB + MH’s family + Matthew = a lot of men of varying talents who care about and look after me. There’s a girl’s list too, but I have a weakness for the boys.

I just wanted to remind myself how much I have to be grateful for. Happy Friday lovelies!

16 Responses

  1. you is one lucky Wookie, except you deserve every bit of it! Glad you’re having a good day!

  2. Yay!!! Hi there, FB friend! Get ready for 3x the e-inappropriateness!

  3. You do have actual, real writing talent. And I’m sending good vibes your way cuz I think Chicago would be fun for you! And you totally deserve to make it to Chicago! (I’m looking forward to vicariously visiting Chicago through your blogging about it!)

  4. Keep up that writing. And, by the way, luck’s got nothing to do with it. πŸ˜‰

  5. Oh man VBC…I’m so sorry to hear about your pay cut. But like you said, your job is mostly safe, so that’s something to be grateful about! It’s all about small blessings these days.

    Love you my dear…have a fabulous weekend!

  6. Pay cut is suckola, but you are great at keeping it in perspective with your long list of positives. I wish I could grow lettuce!

  7. my chicago trip is *this close* to not happening too. but you know what? IT HAS TO. and so does yours. we’ll figure it out and we’ll get there and it’s all gonna be worth it.

    and also, look! am back to commenting! hooray!

  8. Yeah! I’m so happy that you are happy! Just a little envious that you’re taking the Chicago trip. I couldn’t slip in before the doors closed. Get there however you can. You won’t regret it, no matter how long it takes you to pay it off.

  9. Ooooh! I am “whole”….thank to technorati, I found that!

    When you get to Chicag-ho, tell Jerry I said, “Thanks for keeping me entertained during my college years” and tell Oprah that I still think the show she did on child predators back in 2003 was pretty sexist….and I am still pissed she never responded to my email about it.

  10. What a great way to look for the best! Glad you have a lot of happiness going on in your life even if there are some thorns mixed in.

  11. If anyone had plants in this office I would request such a day.

    (And thanks for the wicked awesome mention…)

  12. Your blog always makes me smile, i should read it more often. You do have real writing talent and your bloggy goodness is a wonder to behold. Keep rocking!

  13. Sorry about your job. To state the obvious, it blows. A lot. Have you already gotten your registration to BlogHer? And thanks for the link love πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

