Little Things

So life is getting back to normal, and that’s a good thing. It also means that after lots and lots of pain and drama, things are getting deliciously boring and vanilla again. Here’s a list of the little things I’ve been enjoying this week.

  • New friends, and waking up to Facebook messages from them.
  • Old friends, and the kind of chats that you can only get over a stiff drink. Or three.
  • Lemonade
  • Vodka
  • Lecturing MH about staying up all night playing computer games.
  • Getting lectured about my Facebook addiction relative to my homework dedication.
  • Being tucked in to bed by a 23 lb. orange tabby cat.
  • Sweet bloggy friends who tell me not to worry my pretty head about Chicago roomies.
  • Seeds coming to life in the garden (lettuces, spinaches) and in my herb bed!
  • Budding Irises
  • Skirt weather! (tomorrow)
  • MH feeding Adicus his very own pancake, and watching Adicus look at in drooly disbelief. “My very own pancake?!”
  • The smell of my perfume on my skin (forgot it when I went to Atlanta), though my supply is dangerously low, and this is not a item accommodated by my current budget. ~sniffle~
  • Hugs.
  • Reading blogs!
  • A certain husband going to the dump tomorrow, to clear out the basement so we can clear the office into the basement, so we can clean the office, so I can work out in there! (I guess MH will want to do stuff in there too, but I’m not super concerned about that…)
  • Starbucks gift cards and errands that require me to be within reasonable distance of said Starbucks.
  • Walmart gift cards that fund the purchase of broccoli transplants and other garden goodies…
  • Decent income prospects for MH. (Cross everything and hold your breath, please! šŸ˜‰ )
  • Of course, last but never least, YOU.

What are your little things?

7 Responses

  1. things are a bit bleak round here but little things are still there…

    hugs are very good little things! šŸ™‚

    and awwww… I am not too little but thanks for calling me one of your little things… šŸ™‚

  2. * the smell of blooming hyacintha coming in the open window

    * the arrival of seed and sewing catalogs

    * the high pitched screams of my children playing in the yard (instead of the family room)

    * daylight until after 8:00 p.m.

    * shopping for fresh fruit at the outdoor market

    Life seems the best – immediately following what feels like the worst . . .

  3. hm. Vodka. My kinda gal.

    I love a purring cat on my pillow.

  4. I resent that. It’s not that little.

  5. little things indeed.

    loving: “my very own pancake?!” HA. how could you NOT get excited over a pancake? really?

  6. My dog is accustomed to getting his very own everything! Can you say spoiled!

    So the little thing that got me excited this weekend was taking a ride to the newly open for the season ice cream stand, with my doggy in the back seat hanging his head out the window so very excited because he knows he’s getting ICE CREAM! Just like a little kid.

  7. The essence of life is taking pleasure in the small somewhat mundane things. Life has been crazy, how could you not appreciate these things. I’m very excited about skirt weather!

    Tricia, you haven’t seen spoiled until you see Adicus turn to putty when he realizes mom bought him his OWN ice cream. Licks reeaaallllll slow like it’s the best thing… EVER!!! Maybe we need a video of that?

Leave a Reply

