White Flag

So I’ve been tearing my hair out over my car, trying to find a way to sell some things to raise the money to pay for an engine and the installation, while also searching for said engine, and thinking about how to find someone to install it. I’m making maybe two phone calls a day, and I don’t speak car, so these guys are short and gruff with me. Every once in awhile, someone actually takes a few minutes to explain without being patronizing and helps as much as they can, but most of the time, it’s all grunts and barking.

I don’t understand the difference between a used engine and a rebuilt engine, or at least I don’t understand why a used engine would cost more than a rebuild, and I don’t know how to tell the difference between a good deal and a dangerous waste of time and money. Also? I’m just overwhelmed. I can’t call anyone without getting choked up. Including my Mom.

So I talked to her yesterday, about my stuff, her stuff and my sister’s stuff, and we got off the phone after about an hour. I promised her I wouldn’t sell anything until I talked to her first.

An hour later, my Dad called. He asked me for all the names and numbers of everyone I had talked to, and the people I had not had a chance to call. We talked about the car, the engine, and the mechanic’s shop were it is sitting. He said not to worry about it, that he’s taking care of it, just make do with the truck until he can get the car straightened out. I said thank you and I love you, and then I hung up the phone and cried.

There are some benefits to being a Daddy’s girl, and this is one of them. I surrender, I’m waving the white flag. Good luck and Godspeed, Daddy. And thanks.

4 Responses

  1. Your dad sounds great!

    Have you thought about asking for donations here on your blog via paypal? I’m sure we would all be wiling to throw in a few dollars. That can add up.

  2. Good! I’m glad someone is helping you out.

  3. I have been there with the car situation. I have picked up used engines for myself and my sisters car (at different times) and luckily my mom knows mechanics who help us. I’ve gone to wrecking yards and searched the internet for parts. It really is tough being a girl and trying to talk to men about cars. Even if you know what you are talking about. It’s enough to make anyone crazy. So glad you dad is helping out. Good luck. It will get better 🙂

  4. Good Lord you are lucky to have a Dad like that! Hopefully it will be fixed up good as new very soon.

Leave a Reply

