Taking the Bad with the Good

The Bad: My car needs a new engine.

The Good: We still have WH’s truck, and we easily aligned our schedules this week to accommodate carpooling.

The Bad: I still haven’t heard anything about my raise.

The Good: HR Bob used hopeful phrases like “minimum pay grade” when we discussed the possibilities today.

The Bad: The shop where we had the car towed wants $5000 to replace the engine with their rebuilt engine.

The Good: I have some sources where I can get the engine for around $500.

The Bad: I still have to find someone who can put it in for me for less than a bazillion dollars.

The Good: WH was informally promised a permanent position when the seasonal position ends.

The Bad: This does not help our current situation one bit.

The Good: We both have Thursday off- my birthday.

The Bad: We can’t get enough money for the bike to replace my engine.

The Good: I booked my trip to our Desert Location today.

The Bad: I have to leave the Sunday after Thanksgiving.

The Good: I’m staying in a hotel that borders on “resort status”.

The Bad: The truck needs new tires.

The Good: We may be at critical mass with our vehicles, but we have our house, our health and each other.

The Bad: My Mom has to go to the hospital tomorrow for her first treatment with the second type of chemo.

The Good: This type of chemo should be easier on her (allergic reactions are common, hence the hospital visit).

The Bad: I can’t be there to hold her hand and make her laugh.

The Good: She’ll be able to travel after the first of the year.

The Bad: We won’t be seeing any family for the holidays this year.

The Good: All this drama has reinforced my gratitude for  WH, R & B, my family, our other friends, and my lovely freaders.

All in all, I’ll take the bad with the good.

* These pictures were taken the one morning last week, on my way to work. This is what WH and I see every morning and night on our usual commute route.

6 Responses

  1. Those pics are gorgeous, VBC.
    I have to say, I know what you mean. One of the advantages/disadvantages of having children is being forced to watch kid’s TV.
    On Noggin, it’s “Gratitude” month. I think of it without realizing it. I have tons to be grateful for.
    I hope things get better. Soon.

  2. yup… take the bad with the good… good coice. 🙂
    LOVE the view!! I wish I could see something like that…
    Scotland made me think about those things… A LOT!!!
    may is time to move away from the city????

  3. My mom engine just went bad and she found one for about 1100 bucks at a scrap yard kind of place, but the problem is you run the risk of no warranty. I hope you find someplace!

  4. Holy crap, a new engine for $5000, you might as well buy a new car for that kind of money.

  5. Holy crap, a new engine for $5000, you might as well buy a new car for that kind of money.

  6. This post makes me want to sing…

    “You take the good, you take the bad, you take it all and there you have the facts of life…”

Leave a Reply

