Another Controversial Subject- Mac and Cheese

These cool nights we’re enjoying have inspired me to try my hand with homemade mac and cheese. I’ve been looking at a ton of recipes, and I had no idea the controversy that surrounds macaroni and cheese! Baked or prepared on the stove? Custard style or creamy style? To use Velveeta, or not to use Velveeta. Cream or no cream, or condensed milk? Eggs? No eggs? Three cheese or all cheddar? It’s enough to make my head spin. Also? When I find a dish that has so many different recipes for it, that tells me to just grab one that looks promising, because I’m going to end up modifying it and making it my own anyway.

So the only question left, for now, is: ham or no ham? I think I probably need to pig this up a little, or I’ll get the “meatless dinner stink eye” from WH. Am also serving bread and salad. This little project will probably have to wait until Wednesday, because we have visitors in the office who will need to be taken out tomorrow night for dinner and drinks. Duty calls…………..

Any mac and cheese related advice, freaders?

10 Responses

  1. Booooooo ham….

    BOOOOOO.

    Cheese overcomes all meatlessness.

  2. I adore mac & cheese and here is my recipe:

    Mild Cheddar cubed or shredded
    Baby Swiss cubed or shredded
    Velveeta cubed (more velveeta = more creamy)

    Mix above cheese with a few pats of butter (adds flavor) and milk (I use 2%) until melted and then you may need to add a little more milk to get to the right consistency.

    Mix with cooked macaroni and then sprinkle the top with bread crumbs or French’s onions if you want – not really necessary. Bake at 350 until top is browned and cheese is bubbly.

    I say NO to the ham mixed in BUT yes to a nice ham steak or sliced ham on the side.

    We should start a recipe cooking blog for the busy working woman (you know nothing fancy! 🙂 but still tasty) I have lots of quick and easy recipes for the non-food-snob 🙂

  3. Ben! Why so anti-ham? I must admit, that dulls some of my fiery passion for you…………

    Tricia- we should start a cooking blog. it would so rock. Ham on the side, really?

  4. I don’t think ham is necessary but if you want to serve it to keep WH from complaining then yes on the side! 🙂 Mixing it in changes the flavor of the casserole.

    So want me to create the recipe blog and add you as an owner? I can do it on blogspot.

  5. I’ve been trying to find a baked mac and cheese recipe for ages that I don’t royally screw up.

    Hey, if you make a choice on what you’re gonna do, could you post the recipe?

  6. Well, Tricia, I think nico’s comment nails it- we need a recipe blog! 🙂

  7. I’m on it! 🙂

  8. My fav mac & cheese is the kraft kind…with little pieces of cut up hot dog in it.

    MMmmm.

  9. Ewwww – Matt???? Kraft mac&cheese is for 4 year olds! And with hot dog in it? LOL Men are all alike – my husband prefers Kraft too but he hates hot dogs so that would never fly.!

    Oh and Cath – for the food snob in all of us I found this recipe – and honestly it doesn’t sound too difficult either:

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/grown-up-mac-and-cheese-recipe/index.html

    So enjoy – Recipe Blog is coming

  10. ham if its VERY thinly sliced. Otherwise no way.

Leave a Reply

