Love You, Bye!

Like it or not, I spend a lot of time on the phone. At work, there’s my boss in the desert. There are angry customers and customers who need favors and customers who want credit. There are my internal customers and lo, there are many. That’s just work calls. At home, there are friends and families and neighbors and miscellanous people at various customer service hotlines. Why am I blathering on about phone calls?

Because I am incapable of a proper telephone goodbye.

I started thinking about this last week, while I was trying to close out a conversation with the Crack Rabbit. Then again with Finance Bob. Then again with a customer. And again with my boss. Are you picking up a theme here?

There’s that point where the conversation naturally dwindles, when business has been taken care of and social small talk has run it’s course. One person, or both, issues some kind of opening statement to the goodbye, like “Well, I guess I better get back to this huge pile of work in front of me”, and the other concurs- “Yeah, I guess I better get back at it”. Enter awkwardness. “Okay, well, if you need anything else, give me a call, and if not, I guess I’ll talk to you next week.” “Sure, great, thanks.” “You have a great day.” “Yeah, you too!” “Okay.” “Okay.” “Thanks again!” “Oh, you’re welcome, it was no problem!” “Okay, well, you take care.” And so on and so on.

The awkwardness isn’t all on my end, but you know me, I’m totally self centered, so I started to wonder if I’m somehow provoking this. Is it my tone? Should I be the first to say “bye”? This professional goodbye is so tricky, I thought, because you can’t just say “love you, bye!” like you would with friends or family.

Enter my mother.

I talked to her on Saturday. We had a nice long chat about this and that and nothing in particular, and when we’d run out of things to say, I was busy and she was hungry. When the lull hit, she said “well, that’s all I’ve really got, and it’s about time for my breakfast.” “Yeah, I’m almost done with my shopping and I’ve got to get back to the house, blah, blah.” “It was nice to catch up.” “Yes, it was. I’ll give you a call next weekend, if not before then.” “Okay, great. Give the kitties and Adicus my love. Tell WH I love him. (notice the order there?!).” “I will, Mom. Give Daddy my love. Tell him to take care of himself, and you do too. I’ll talk to you soon.” “Okay, honey, I will, I’ll tell him and you take care of yourself too and I love you very much.” “I love you too, Mom, I’ll talk to you soon.” “Okay, I’m looking forward to it. Have a good week.” “I will, Mom, you too.” “Okay.” “Okay.” “Bye!” “Bye!” “I love you.” ” Love you too, Mom, bye.” ~click~

So maybe it’s genetic.

2 Responses

  1. At least you haven’t actually said “love you, bye” to a colleague in a phone conversation. I sometimes have difficulty remembering who/what I’m talking to/emailing and have been known to end emails to my boss with “lots of love”.

    The personal touch 🙂

  2. I HATE talking on the phone. When my husband and I were dating, he’d call me, I’d ignore it, and text him back. It’s pathological. I totally sympathize with you!

Leave a Reply

