Blog Envy

When WH first started talking about starting a blog, he asked me how I would take it if his blog did better than mine. I told him- it would probably bother me a little, but yours will have more direction, more limited subject matter, blah, blah, apples, oranges, blah.

Yeah. Well. His blog traffic is totally kicking my blog traffic’s ass. I’m happy for him, but that doesn’t preclude my being pretty jealous. WH is more popular than I am. 😦

It’s pretty cute, too, watching him figure the whole thing out. He just doesn’t understand why he has the traffic he does, but has only gotten one comment. We talked about reading blogs and commenting on blogs and starting a blogroll. He’s started doing some of that, but was disheartened when, in his first 30 minutes of reading and commenting, he still hadn’t generated more comments. We’ve found him a plethora of fishing blogs, so I’m sure it’s only a matter of time before Capt. Patience has more comments than he ever thought possible.

Now I just have to figure out how to win this thing. Any suggestions, internet? Stop whining? Less navel-gazing? Topless pictures? Help a girl out, interwebs!

5 Responses

  1. Cheat.

    No, seriously. I think that blog carnivals are a great way to generate traffic, so I’d participate in some of those. You could also crosspost your stuff at Shine (at Yahoo) or BlogHer and link back here to draw more visitors…

  2. Comment on every single blog you come across! haha hopefully everyone will come back and do the same!

  3. Yes. I second Jamie’s response. LOL

  4. If you build it, they will come.

  5. You know, put the word “free” in your blog post. LOL. I have a post that gets HUGE traffic when I posted the “Free Romance Ebooks” for the Romance Divas Valentine’s day special. Apparently, free shit gets people to come to your blog.
    “Free gas”?
    “Free Advice”?
    LOL.
    Well, that and commenting on other blogs. That’s how I’ve increased traffic.

Leave a Reply

