Moderate Success

So I went grocery shopping Monday on my lunch break, because it was cold enough to leave everything in the car all afternoon. Monday for lunch I had raw veggies and garlic hummus. Dinner was salmon and a huge salad with a little bit of cheese and some onion vinaigrette dressing. It was sad and strange to eat salad without two heaping handfuls of shredded cheese and a sea of ranch dressing, but the new dressing is really good and, you know, I could taste the veggies because I only used a tablespoon. Dessert was fruit salad, which I also took for breakfast. I had yogurt with flax seed for a snack.

Then the new managers for the new company shall hereto be referred to as the Bobs (yes, from Office Space). I have a Finance Bob, Semi-Permanent Bob (my favorite), and today I met HR Bob. They have real names, but we were told six months ago that they were “consultants”, and that wasn’t obnoxious enough for me, so I named them Bobs. Side note: a Bob with a huge portwine stain on his face made a short appearance, and I got Diet Coke to come out of the owner’s nose when I referred to him in a private conversation as “Birthmark Bob”. See also: nicknames, shitty. Anyway. HR Bob and SP Bob took me out for Mexican. Mexican is a weakness of mine. Chicken enchiladas with refried beans and corn chips and that manna from heaven, mexican-melting-magical cheese. Crash and burn, baby.

I redeemed myself after work with our first running practice. Walk two minutes, run one minute, seven times. This was *just* hard enough. I was accompanied by R & B, while Frenchy and Psycho Girl (see also: nicknames, shitty) ran ahead.

Then I came home and WH made steak, potatoes, and salad. I cut my steaks in half before we freeze them, so it was only 4 oz., and very lean meat. I ate about a quarter of the potato, but finished my salad. I justified this by saying that at this point in the month, it’s important that I keep my iron stores up. Good ol’ mother nature justifies bad behavior again. At least it was an improvement over lunch!

Aloe Vera juice, by the way, tastes like ass. When they tell you to put that shit into some apple juice, it isn’t a suggestion. It’s survival, internet. Survival.

7 Responses

  1. It sounds like overall you are doing great on your diet. It is hard to change all at once. Plus, beef is a great source of iron and women need that. Oh, and your Bobs comments made me bust out laughing in class. Luckily, my teacher is old and deaf.

    On a totally different note, I loved your comment about the pigs. So true.

  2. tasted a lot of ass then? (wait – do i want to know the answer to that???) πŸ™‚

  3. Aloe vera juice? I hate to tell you this, but you’ve progressed way beyond me. I thought that was for rubbing on your skin after a sunburn? Is this something I need to be drinking? And why? πŸ™‚

  4. I posted a comment here and it disappeared. Hmmmm – must be the internet gremlins took it away. Now what did I say? Oh yeah Birthmark Bob just about made me snort out loud in my cube – luckily I was able to disguise it as a sneeze! LOL

    And aloe vera juice? really? Why not start with something that is meant to be eaten like V8? LOL

  5. your menu today sounds great… I ❀ hummus... i could eat it all the time

  6. The book recommended aloe vera juice as a holistic treatment for Irritable Bowel Syndrome, which I have. It’s supposed to calm inflammation in the gut and help to um, keep things moving correctly. πŸ™‚ I think it’s working pretty well, too- I haven’t had the usual cramping and bloating that I had before I started taking it.

    Princess Polly- I haven’t ever tasted ass, but I’d lay money on it resembling the aloe vera taste. πŸ˜‰

  7. I’m impressed! Rock on.

    Also, Mexican is totally my weakness. Leave me alone at a table with enough guac and chips for five and it will all be gone in minutes.

Leave a Reply

