The Wrong Kind of 5K

If you checked out the seven random things meme, you know about my running career. I am not a runner. So when Frenchy (the semi-new French guy in the office) emailed everyone about training for and running a 5k here in Paradise in June, I did not reply. When he asked me about it in person, I asked him if he was going to chase me, because if I’m not being chased, I don’t really see any point in running. Need to get somewhere quick? That’s what cars are for. He kept pushing me to sign up, and I informed him that I just couldn’t, because they’re training after work on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and my accounting class is T/TH evening class.

Thinking I had successfully dodged his pressure, I headed back to my office, relieved.

A few hours later he stopped by to ask me when my class was again, and I reminded him that it conflicts with his training schedule.

Five minutes later, he came and informed me that “we” are now training on Mondays and Wednesdays, and seeing as how they switched the whole schedule to accommodate me, I no longer had a choice about running.

B was similarly sucked in, and we’ve both accepted defeat. Frenchy is hard to say no to. Apparently, another half dozen girls in the office feel the same way, because now we’re a Corporate Team in this 5k race. In June. Ya’ll, I really hope I don’t piss myself in front of my coworkers and most of Paradise.

I know I could be all assertive and tell them that I just don’t have time and this isn’t my thing. I also know that running twice a week with people who would give me absolute unadulterated hell for welching is a sure fire way to stick to a workout plan. This would allow me to eat more Oreos, more velveeta and cream based soup, etc., and get me bikini ready. (I never got bikini ready last year, as evidenced here. Oh! The shame.)

So this spring, I’ll be learning Algebra and training for my first (only?) 5k race. It’s the year of conquering the impossible!

I haven’t decided if Frenchy is cute because he’s French, or if he’s just cute. I am certain, though, that WH is cute, and he fully plans to bring some fried chicken and beer to the track and enjoy some quality entertainment. Also, probably to keep an eye on Frenchy, which is probably some really sound thinking on his part.

Do they give you $5k for finishing a 5k? Yeah, probably not.

7 Responses

  1. I commend you for going for it because holy hell, I’d die. DIE. I hate running. Blech.

    Sorry, I doubt that helps any… for what it’s worth? I NEED to go back to the gym. I’ve been steadily gaining back weight that I got rid of and am feeling gross because of it. Stupid… sugar in take. Meh.

  2. I really want to run a 5k this year but I haven’t gotten off my ass AT ALL in 2008. It’s ridiculous.

    Good luck πŸ™‚

  3. Totally did not expect this after your story about running. Having people to work out with always helps. Good luck!

  4. hey, bikini body is a good enough motivator for me! Next year you’ll post totally sexi pics while the rest of us have flabby tums and all.

  5. You got off easy! My friends conned me into training for a TRI-ATHALON. Shoot me now.

    We can commiserate together though, right?

  6. Good for you!!! I’m so proud! I ran my first 10K last year after several 5K races over the previous several years. Believe it or not, running is addictive, and now that you’ve given up smoking there’s no reason in the world you can’t become a 5K runner (please chile! It’s only about 3 miles :-)). Just start out alternating walking with running, and before you know it, you’ll experience the famous runner’s high – not to mention that there is nothing, absolutely nothing, that I’ve found to be as effective in creating slender, lean hips and thighs so rapidly! Just don’t put any pressure on yourself, even if you half walk the event the first time, the important thing is that it’ll prove to you it’s really nothing to fear or be intimidated by! And you are far too young to have an old lady’s attitude towards running, Missy. πŸ™‚ Oh, and I should mention that I was never ever a runner as a teenager, never had the wind for it, so if I can do it, ANYONE can!

  7. I wonder why it is always friends that con us into doing things like running a 5K? My friend also did that, the race was ready before I was and I am sure that my first was my last. I thought I was going to die! However, I was proud of myself for finishing, even though the EMTs were standing ready and watching me suspiciously, wondering should they rescue me or not, was that really a dead man walking?

Leave a Reply

