A Change of Pace, A Change of Heart

Resolutions. I try not to make specific resolutions, because they’re so loaded with expectation and duty and guilt. I do set goals, though, and my goal for 2008 is to get back to my core values. I want to take better care of the people I love, including myself. I want to put my time and energy into more of my interests and commitments and spend less of my resources stewing about things I can’t control. I want to try and live more simply; taking better care of what I have, gardening, putting the house in the condition I want it in, cooking more, eating less crap. Taking more hikes, enjoying the mountains that I love. Chasing wildflowers, observing more of the seasons than what I see out the car window on the way to some obligation.

We moved to the mountains to live a better quality life, and it’s easy to get caught up in the rat race and the corporate ladder and material things. Those have a place, but I want to really try this year to let them have a superficial place in my life, and to concentrate on my relationships and my home and that part of myself that I drug off the shelf and dusted off when I had time last year.

I’m seriously considering slowing down to two classes a term; I’m only taking one for Spring term, both because the schedule didn’t really meet my needs and I need to do some Algebra studying, so I can retake that entrance exam and get my math classes out of the way before I transfer to a university now. I’m technically a sophomore, so I feel like I’ve proved that I’m serious, and my performance is more important than weighing myself down in a half load so that when things get busy anywhere at all, I no longer have time to think. I’m committed to getting my degree, but I don’t need to *be* committed to a mental institution to get there.

So that’s my goal for 2008- to make time to send birthday cards and make phone calls and grow vegetables, because those are some of my favorite parts of life, and very much a part of who I am, and I got off track in honoring that in how I spend my time and effort. I also got off track in keeping score; I need to step back from bills and balances and things to trips and life and love.

For you, dear internet, that means less grousing and whining, and more pretty pictures and funny stories. It’s funny, too, that is was thinking about this space and the time I spend here and how reflective it is of what’s going on in my life and how it had become just like my life; depressing, monotonous, with martyer-ish undertones. Time for a change of pace and a new perspective.

Luckily, I had some help with that…………………….. stay tuned for snow pics.

2 Responses

  1. I think everyone gets a little “swept up” in things every once and a while.
    Good luck with slowing things down đŸ™‚

  2. It’s hard not to get weighed down by it all. And you’ve had A LOT on your plate.
    BEAUTIFUL new header on your blog. Very nice.

Leave a Reply

