2008: Things to Look Forward To

On the advice of my most important blog peeps, I am letting go of WH and his joblessness. Whatever is going to happen, good or bad, is going to happen with or without my hand-wringing, raging and hyper vigilance. So, why waste the energy, and why risk making things harder on WH, and possibly cutting my nose to spite my face.

So, today we are concentrating on all the great, positive things that the New Year brings.

#1: New Year’s party. Yep. We’re having a New Year’s party. Close friends, lots of booze and a bonfire. 2007 was a less than stellar year, and I intend to give it the send off it deserves. Hopefully without puking.

#2: Super secret confidential work stuff. This is good stuff that I still can’t talk about, except to say that I have a very, very formal and decadent business dinner to attend in a few weeks, and I am incredibly excited about it, and damn relieved that I bought that cute pinstriped suit months ago when it was 70% off at Penney’s. Unless I decide to wear my brown wool pants and a nice sweater. I’m still contemplating wardrobe choices for this event. It’s important that I put my best foot forward.

#3: School starts again mid-January. Due to financial constraints, I am only taking one class this term. That’s exciting, though, for a couple reasons. First, it is an on campus class and I like doing that every once in awhile- actually seeing my teacher and classmates. Second, because it is only one class, I should have a nice, relaxed spring with no hair pulling. (See last springs’ archives for details). Last, the class I am taking is……….. Accounting 120. Yes, internet, I have run the accounting department of this company for three years now, and I am finally taking Introduction to Accounting. So, it will be fairly easy, I will have an updated textbook (I use my old boss’s textbook that he gave me now, on the odd occasion that I need to check on something), rather than one that was written before I was born. Also, maybe, I will be a hot commodity in that class, as these poor people try to wrap their heads around credits and debits and assets= liabilities + capital. It drove me nuts for awhile, until I got my head around it.

#4: Valentine’s Day. R & B and I agreed not to exchange Christmas presents, but we will exchange Valentines. I can’t wait to do something sweet for these two, to show them how much I love them and to thank them for keeping me glued together. Also, either WH will have a job and I will get something fabulous in return for my undying love and devotion, or he won’t have a job, and I will have a boyfriend. 😉

#5: 3-11-2008. Unexpected Bill, his college friend, WH and I are all going to the 311 concert in New Orleans, on 3-11-2008. Long before the bottom fell out around here, we bought tickets, reserved hotel rooms, and begged a favor from the discount airfare fairy (who is an actual real person). Not only is this my first time EVER in the Big Easy, but this is my fifth 311 concert, and my first ever 311 Day. For those of you who haven’t really ever lived and don’t know who or what I am talking about, 311 is the best band ever (except for the Police, sorry, WH), and New Orleans declared March 11th of every year 311 day. On even numbered years, 311 performs a SIX HOUR SET and then throws a huge after party in the French Quarter. This particular concert is bound to be something else, because 2006’s concert was in Memphis because of Katrina, so this is kind of a homecoming for 311 day. If you’ve been to NO, and you can think of some stuff for us to check out before the concert, please share. Our reservations are for Sunday through Wednesday, although we may have to shorten our stay if we don’t get our finances under control by then (see #4).

In the words of the immortal Colonel Potter: “Here’s to the new year. May she be a damn sight better than the old one, and may we may we all be home before she’s over.”

5 Responses

  1. You must must must eat beignets and drink cafe au lait at the Cafe du Monde while you are in New Orleans. It is on Decatur St, smack dab in the French Quarter. Many times (ok ok, I’ve only been to NO 3 times…) they will have a live band playing too! Plus, I think they are open 24 hours, so you can go any time!
    Good luck to your hubs on getting a job soon!

  2. I’ve never been to NO before but I so want to go. Your list of things to look forward to sounds like a lot of fun. Enjoy your New Year’s bash!

  3. HOLY CRAP, SO JEALOUS YOU’RE GOING TO 311 DAY! That is going to be, like, the raddest thing ever. Happy New Year-have a blast at your party!

  4. You go girl!!!! Sounds like you have some great things to anticipate.

  5. Accounting 120, eh? That’s pretty funny. I wonder if you’ll actually learn anything or completely intimidate the instructor:)

Leave a Reply

