It Must Have Been the Mistletoe

Hey, have you ever heard that super-super cheesy Christmas carol by Barbara Mandrell? “It Must Have Been the Mistletoe”? So, that’s kind of maybe sorta one of my absolute favorite Christmas carols ever, and kinda a theme song for me because…………..

WH and I started dating eleven years ago today. We had known each other for a week, and we were supposed to have our second date at a concert that a friend’s band was playing downtown. He came to pick me up, and he had a long stemmed red rose, and he came through the door, grabbed me around my waist, and planted one on me. He pushed me into the kitchen counter, and I think my heart went all the way through the cupboards and the wall. I was a goner.

We got on the interstate on our way downtown, and traffic slowed to an absolute stop. We sat and sat, and finally, a news truck slid past us on the shoulder. We realized that we probably weren’t going anywhere soon. Later, we found out that a drunk used the off ramp as an on ramp and caused a horrible accident.

It was pretty late, as far as the concert was concerned, by the time traffic started moving again. WH pretended that he couldn’t find the venue (I wouldn’t find that out for a long time), and took me out to dinner instead. After dinner, we went back to his house.

I have to stop here to insist- It’s Not What You Think. I’m not that kind of girl. It wasn’t what WH thought either, heh.

That night, we talked until the wee hours of morning. He said that falling in love was like falling off of a cliff. We agreed not to see other people.

What WH didn’t know was that I had gone to see Santa at the mall two days earlier and asked for him for Christmas. Santa chuckled, and said that he generally doesn’t get those kind of requests, that they are more Cupid’s territory than his, but he would see what he could do.

I guess he figured it out, or maybe he called in a favor to Cupid. I’m really glad.

That was at the tender age of seventeen. I don’t know that I really had any idea what love was, or what it meant. I know I wanted to. I know that this incredibly hot, incredibly sweet man, with an incredible voice looked at me and introduced himself, and in my teenage cheesiness, I instantly thought “future husband” after he said his name. That very first night we met I told my father I had met my husband. He laughed at me, as I suppose any grown man would.

Last night, at one point in the evening, I swear it felt like WH was sitting right next to me. I don’t want you, the internet, to know quite how strange I am, but I will tell you- there’s a certain energy to the house when I’m home alone, and my energy is different. His frequency, if you will, is distinct, and so is its absence, and I am not kidding you internet, it was like he was right there. He wasn’t. But it sure felt like he was.

He is the best Christmas present I have ever gotten in my entire life, and I try, try, try to remember that; that his love is a gift.

We won’t have dinner together tonight, there won’t be kissing at red lights like that first night- there hasn’t been any red light kissing in several years, I won’t even fall asleep in his arms, as I have for the past bazillion nights. I hope, though, to have just a glimmer of that feeling from last night, to feel him near when he’s not, to know that we are no longer two separate people. He is so much a part of me, I am so much a part of him, that I feel him in my blood and my breath.

I love you, WH. I miss you, and I can’t wait until we’ve been together for 22 years. Or 33 years, or 55 years. You are my world.

It must have been the mistletoe,
The lazy fire,
The Fallin’ Snow,
The magic in the frosty air
that feeling everywhere
It must have been the pretty lights,
that glistened in the Silent Night
Or maybe just the stars so bright that shined above you
Our first Christmas more then we’d been dreaming of.
Old St. Nicolas had his fingers crossed that we would fall in love.
It could have been the holiday
the midnight ride upon a sleigh
the country side all dressed in white
that crazy snowball fight
It could have been the steeple bell,
that wrapped us up within it’s spell
It only took one kiss to know
It must have been the mistletoe
Our first Christmas
more then we’d been dreaming of
Old St. Old St. Nicolas must have known that kiss would lead to all of this
It must have been the mistletoe,
the lazy fire,
the fallin’ snow,
the magic in the frost air
that made me love you
on Christmas eve a wish came true
the night i fell in love with you
it only took one kiss to know
It must have been the mistletoe
It must have been the mistletoe, mistletoe
The lazy fire, the fallin’ snow, fallin’ snow
The magic in the frosty air
that feeling everywhere
It must have been the mistletoe, mistletoe
the lazy fire, the fallin’ snow, fallin’ snow
the magic in the frosty air
that made me love you
It must have been the mistletoe mistletoe
the lazy fire, the fallin’ snow fallin’ snow
the magic in the frosty air
that feeling everywhere

6 Responses

  1. great post.

  2. How sweet!
    And damn, if I thought Santa answered *those* type of requests, I would’ve asked a long time ago.

    Santa baby- bring me my own WH! and bring Cat’s back safe!

    Merry Happy Christmas!

  3. *happy sigh*
    I love it when you write about him.
    And I know EXACTLY what you mean.

  4. What a lovely post. And how nice to hear something like this around Christmas. Merry Christmas!

  5. So incredibly sweet and moving.

    I know exactly what you mean, too. About him feeling like he’s right there, when he’s not. It’s awesome.

    Happy holidays, love.

  6. […] they could stand, and sometimes they couldn’t stand each other. They made countless wonderful memories together, memories one can’t help but cherish for a lifetime. There are bad memories too, and some of […]

Leave a Reply

