Crisis of the Week

I wrote this last week, while WH was gone. Since he’s here now, and all I really have to post about today is the roasted chicken with mashed potatoes and REAL GRAVY that awaits me for dinner tonight, this is what I have to offer you…………………

Oh, internet, you will love this story.

I was driving home late Tuesday night, in the dark. About five miles from the house, I came around a curve doing about 40mph, and saw eyes in the road. I locked my brakes up trying to stop, but didn’t swerve because we get in trouble for swerving for critters. It was too late, though, and I heard that sickening thud that is unmistakable. I was heartbroken, sure I had killed some poor little girl’s cat, devastated at having hit something, and scared. What should I do? Do I just keep going? I can’t do that, especially not if it’s someone’s cat, and especially not if it’s hurt and suffering. What the hell am I going to do with a strange, hurt cat, though? I decided I would cross that bridge when I came to it. So, I turned around and headed back to the scene of the crime, sobbing and dry-heaving and just being melodramatic in general. I saw a tiny critter body in the road, so I pulled over and jumped out.

As I crossed the street, I was sure that the critter was dead. There was no rise and fall of it’s breath, no movement at all. When I got to it, I knelt down to look for a collar. This is when I realized- I hit a raccoon. My tears dried up, my stomach settled down, and my heartbeat slowed to normal. I stood there, in the road, for a minute. Then I nudged the raccoon corpse. It was deader than a doornail. Not suffering.

So, I went home and made dinner. Fed all of my critters and loved on them a little more than usual. Life went on.

This morning, I was driving to work and realized- I saw Tick last night, when I fed everyone. I have to pick him up and put him on top of the dryer where I feed them. He’s not too fat to do it himself, he just doesn’t think he should have to when I’m right there. But, I didn’t see him before I went to bed, and I didn’t seem him this morning. I am so worried about my fat gray cat! I know he is a cat and is probably on some Grand Adventure and will probably be napping in the sun on my screened in porch when I get home tonight, but still- what if the universe took him to make up for the raccoon? I’m thinking about taking my lunch just to drive the 1 hour round trip back home, to make sure he’s okay. Just so I know. That’s not too silly, is it?

Update: Went home with R at lunch and found Tick snoozing on the bed. The depth of R’s love for me- limitless.

2 Responses

  1. Nope, I don’t think it’s silly at all.

  2. I HATE raccoons. A couple months ago, I heard something that I assumed was a cat scratching my air conditioner. I went on the back porch to tell the cat to go away, and there were FOUR raccoons on the roof outside my window. So I did what any rational adult would do: screamed, ran inside, and stood on the chair in my living room until my roommate and her boyfriend came home to rescue me.

Leave a Reply

